

MACPS CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY 2020 HALL OF FAME INDUCTEE CAROL MEIDINGER

41 YEARS IN CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY

Carol Meidinger is a child passenger safety (CPS) consultant and certified instructor from North Dakota. She has been involved in child passenger safety since 1979, when she attended the first National Child Passenger Safety Conference, following passage of Tennessee's child restraint law. Based on what she learned at the conference, Carol became passionate about the importance of buckling up children and has remained steadfast in her determination to work towards preventing deaths and injuries to children.

Following the conference, Carol returned to North Dakota and implemented "Project Childsafe" which became the State Child



Passenger Safety Program. She set up car seat rental programs in all 53 counties in the state, which eventually became car seat distribution programs. Carol was instrumental in obtaining passage of North Dakota's child restraint law in 1983, which became known as the "Law of Love." She has returned to the legislature many times over the years to strengthen and remove gaps in the law. She also worked to pass North Dakota's seat belt law and other injury prevention legislation.

In addition to her child passenger safety work in North Dakota, Carol became involved in CPS at the national level. In the mid-1980's, she was active in the National Passenger Safety Association. In the mid-1990's, she was part of the "Patterns for Life" team that developed the initial CPS curriculum and established the national certification program. In 1998, Carol became certified as a Child Passenger Safety Technician Instructor and began the role of implementing NHTSA's Standardized Curriculum in North Dakota. From 2012-2015, Carol served on the National Child Passenger Safety Board, in an Advocate Position.

From 1985 through 2005, Carol was the director of the Injury Prevention Program in the North Dakota Department of Health, which included programming in other areas of childhood injury prevention, including work with adolescent suicide prevention, consumer product safety, poison prevention, etc. Child passenger safety remained a priority within the program.

Retired in 2006, Carol continued her work in child passenger safety by serving as a consultant to the ND Department of Health. In that role, she assists the department with organizing and instructing certification courses, technician updates and awareness classes to targeted audiences. She assists with car seat checkups, overseeing technician recertification, with a focus on quality seat checks.

Carol remains active in the injury prevention field and is a member of the North Dakota Child Fatality Review Panel, the Bismarck-Mandan Safety Council and the North Dakota Child Passenger Safety Advisory Committee. She is a team member for NHTSA's Occupant Protection Assessments, leading the OP for Children portion of the assessment.

Throughout her career, Carol recognized that partnership was a key to accomplishing what needed to be done. Her philosophy was evident in the number of boards, coalitions and committees on which she served, many in leadership roles. Some of these included the ND Injury Prevention Coalition, ND Occupant Protection Task Force, ND EMSC Advisory Committee, State & Territorial Injury Prevention Directors Association, Safety Belt Safe USA, ND Adolescent Suicide Prevention Task Force, Rocky Mountain Regional Brain Injury Center, ND Safety Belt Coalition, ND Safety Council, ND Public Health Association, Safe Kids ND and United Tribes Injury Prevention Advisory Committee.

Carol has been recognized for her work in injury prevention and child passenger safety with awards from the North Dakota Public Health Association (*Special Recognition Award*), National Healthy Mothers - Healthy Babies Coalition (*National Achievement Award*), American Public Health Association (*Public Health Practice Award – Adolescent Suicide Prevention Project*), Aberdeen Area Indian Health Service (*Injury Prevention Achievements to Native American People*), National Association of Governor's Highway Safety Representatives (*Peter O'Rourke Award*), Advocates for Highway & Auto Safety (*Highway Safety Champion*), North Dakota Medical Association (*Friend of Medicine Award*), ND Department of Transportation (*Traffic Safety Honor Roll*) and the National Highway Traffic Administration (*Public Service Award*).



