

## Manufacturers Alliance Child Passenger Safety



#### The MACPS Hall of Fame announces nominees for class of 2018

Last year the, 2017 The MACPS inducted its first class of outstading members of the Safety community into The Child Passenger Safety Hall of Fame. The Child Passenger Safety Hall of Fame is where the leaders of their industry/organization are recognized and remembered for the indelible impressions they have left on the safety of their community and/or the nation.

Each year the HOF committee accepts nominations into the Child Passenger Safety Hall of Fame. These outstanding child safety professionals come from all areas of Child Passenger Safety. Manufacturers, advocates, designers, researchers and many others are nominated and considered as potential members of this elite group each year.

Looking at many different factors including; Heart, Leadership, Dedication, Compassion and Impact, the committee reviews each nomination. The committee then votes on the current years inductees. Nominees that are not inducted into the current years HOF are eligible for another 5 years to be considered for induction in future years.

#### Congratulations to the 2018 Hall of Fame Nominees

Mike James	AL	Debbie Baer	MD
Judy Hammond	NHTSA	Joseph (Boyd) Tong	ΑZ
Barbara Baines	Canada	Elizabeth (Beth) Warren	TX
Nancy Lang	KY	* Professor Arnold Siegel	CA
Dr. Marilyn Bull, MD	IN	* Mark McCracken	NM
Charles Hirata	HI	* Dr. Robert Sanders	TN
Kenny Chang	Taiwan	* Posthumously	

#### The 2018 Inductees will be announced later this year.

We congratulate ALL the nominees to the MACPS Hall of Fame for their hard, ground breaking work over the years. They have made a difference and still do!

If you know someone whom you believe is eligible for the Child Passenger Safety Hall of Fame, please nominate them for the 2019 Hall of Fame. The MACPS Hall of Fame has two categories of nominations: the "Legacy Category" and the "Contemporary Category." (Currently Active) Candidates will still be inducted into <u>one</u> Hall of Fame, however, the nominations will be voted upon separately in these two distinct categories.

Requirements for the Legacy Category – Any person who has been active in a principal role with any Child Passenger Safety program/activities for 20 or more years will be considered a Legacy candidate. A principal role is director, chief executive officer, program coordinator, instructor/educator, technician, volunteer, designer, etc.

Former principal players that are not currently active may also be nominated as possible candidates for the Legacy Category. It is not feasible to list every possibility regarding principal role and the Legacy Category. Through the vetting process of the applications, the CPS Hall of Fame Selection Committee will examine all the credentials; however, the Committee will use 20 years as its initial benchmark and guideline to help assure the nominee qualifies for consideration in the Legacy Category. Anyone who nominates a candidate in the Legacy Category should clearly indicate, as part of the nomination letter, that the nomination is being made specifically for consideration in the Legacy Category of the CPS Hall of Fame.

Requirements for the Contemporary Category – Any person who is or has been active in a principal role with any Child Passenger Safety program/activities will be considered a contemporary candidate. A principal role is director, chief executive officer, program coordinator, instructor/educator, technician, volunteer, designer, etc. There is no minimum timeframe for participation in CPS program/activities.

Additional details – A person who writes either a letter of nomination or a letter of support for one candidate cannot write another letter of nomination or another letter of support for any other candidate in a given year.

For the Class of 2019, the selection committee shall accept one of the following:

- 1. A letter of nomination, not more than two (2) single-sided pages in length or
- 2. One (1) double-sided page.

For the Class of 2019, the selection committee shall accept ONLY TWO (2) letters of support and those letters must also not be more than two (2) single-sided pages in length or one (1) double-sided page. (Optional)

Please, no photos should be included. If the Chairperson receives more than two (2) letters of nomination or letters of support longer than two (2) pages, the Chairperson reserves the right to return the letter or to choose among the letters that meet the requirements.

#### **Letters of Nomination and Support**

Whether Legacy or Contemporary, all nomination letters should be very specific about the accomplishments of the candidate.

- A list of bullet points or a numbered list of dates of service, accomplishments, etc., is an excellent format for the selection committee to examine and to read.
- All letters must contain contact information for the author of the letter, including name, mailing address, home or mobile telephone number, and email address.
- Please also include such information for the candidate as well. If the nomination is being proposed posthumously, kindly indicate.

Once again, there must be only one (1) letter of nomination and there must be only two letters of support. None of the letters is to be greater than two (2) single-sided or one double-sided page. It is the responsibility of the author of the nomination letter to collect the letters of support and email all the information at the same time to MACPS c/o Bob Wall - bob.wall@nuna.eu.

# All nomination and supporting materials must be received by the chair by close of business on March 1, 2019.

Any questions regarding the CPS Hall of Fame or the nomination process should be addressed by Hall of Fame Chair, Bob Wall at bob.wall@nuna.eu .

### 2017 Inaugural Hall of Fame Inductees

\*Cheryl Neverman – NHTSA

\*Emilie Crown – Safe Kids MD

\*Joel Bolton - NHTSA

\*Annemarie Shellness

Dave Campbell Kathy Weber

Stephanie Tombrello – SafetyBelt Safe USA

Lorrie Walker – Safe Kids Worldwide

Robert (Bob) Wall – NUNA Baby

Howard Wilson - Chrysler Paul Butler – Ford Motor

Artie Martin - General Motors

Deborah Stewart – Safe Ride News

Barbara Birkenshaw - VW

Carol Helminski - Graco

Charley Kennington - Pupil Transpiration

Cheryl Wolf - Special Needs Pupil Transpiration

Bill Hall – NC Transportation Reacsearch Center

\* Posthumously